The building was named after a merchant toy dealer, Johann Lorenz Hagenauer (1712 – 1792), the owner of the building and a family friend to the Mozarts.
To celebrate the life and times of Mozart, the International Mozarteum Foundation installed a museum in the house on June 15, 1880. Over time the museum has been restructured and remodelled to become a cultural venue of the highest importance which attracts thousand of visitors every year.
Of particular interest in the museum is the violin he used as a child, his concert violin, the clavichord, harpsichord and letters from the Mozart family.
In 1994, the museum was carefully renovated to state-of-the-art museum standards to protect the exhibits from natural deterioration and damage.
The second floor of the building showcases Mozart as a composer and includes numerous miniature models of stages and the stories detailing Mozart’s operas.
On the first floor of Mozart’s birthplace, visitors are provided with an insight into everyday life in the Mozart household with displays of original furniture and items such as utensils, documents and musical instruments.
The museum is open daily from 9.00am – 5.30pm and last entrance is 30 mins before closing. Guided tours are available by prior arrangement and unfortunately the museum is not wheelchair friendly.